• Tuesday, January 5, 2021

As we enter a new year, our dearest hope is that it is one that will bring with it good tidings.

Having spent the past year simply trying to get by, our dearest hope is that it is one that will bring with it good tidings.

We want to recover the sense of life that is passionate, joyful, and enchanting.

It is why we are starting off by bringing some good news to your doorstep.

 

Self-Service Backups using JetBackup

We cannot over-emphasize the importance of a good. well-thought-out disaster recovery plan for any business or enterprise.

Developing a backup plan:

  • is a buffer against human error
  • gives you the ability to reverse problems during updates
  • help prevent loss of data
  • help you handle compatibility issues after new installations
  • help you deal with malware infections
  • serves as insurance against hackers
  • makes it easy to create a testing version of your website
  • and last but not the least, help you and your team develop good security practices

 

Enter JetBackup.

cPanel JetBackup v4

JetBackup used to be a premium feature for business accounts that we host & manage.

Today, we are making it available to all plans.

If you log in to your cPanel, you will see JetBackup in the Files section of your cPanel.

As our customer, JetBackup is designed to give you the "self-service" advanced backup and restore functionality you need at no extra charge.

Take for instance where you are working on your website and need to be able to roll back the changes you made or restore the account to its pre-change status when things don't go as planned.

With JetBackup, all you need to do is to create a Snapshot.

Snapshots give you the ability to create a point-in-time snapshot of your account and restore from that snapshot if needed.

If changes/upgrades you made didn't go as planned, you simply restore your latest snapshot to roll back to the previous setup.

JetBackup gives you the ability to back up:

  • Full Backups
  • File Backups
  • Cron Job Backups
  • DNS Backups
  • Database Backups
  • Email Backups

We highly recommend that you create a reminder in your Calendar or To-Do tool that will prompt you to back up your web hosting account once every week.

This is more important now that we are limiting backups to ONCE PER MONTH.

Though daily backups will still be available for Business accounts, customers on normal hosting accounts are expected to use JetBackup for backups.

It means that if you ever have the need to restore your account or need your backup, chances are that the backup our Infrastructure Team will give you will be a month out of date from the day you made that request.

If you ask our Migration Team to restore your account, we will ask you for the last backup before proceeding with your request.

And you know what, making this a habit is even more helpful since hosting management and website management are two separate things.

Your hosting account is more like home.

Your website, a window in that home.

A home may be the place you sleep, eat, and relaxes.

But if you don't know where things are, if you don't regularly clean it up, chances are that sooner or later, you will find it unlivable no matter how magnificent it was when you first moved in.

Hosting management is about familiarizing yourself with all the features available to you via your control panel, being able to use them to accomplish your goals and keep your account secure, tidy, and optimized.

 

So please, make this an integral part of your hosting account management.

Add "Backup Hosting Account" to your Calendar or To-Do app today.

If you need a to-do app to use, you can install any of these below or use your OS Calendar:

 

Ah ... did we tell you that we are moving our documentation to a new URL?

It is also where you will find the latest JetBackup tutorials.

  • JetBackup v4 (stable version - available on all production servers.)
  • JetBackup v5 (newest generation JetBackup - not available on all servers.)

Please note that this doesn't have your support or billing account. It is our attempt to unify documentation and ensure that they are current and updated. 

Your account remains where it and do not attempt logging in as our systems may block your IP address.